Coming Out To Your Doctor?

So, this morning while scrolling through Facebook I saw a post about a guy who decided to come out to his primary care physician. He was more anxious and nervous to tell his doctor than he was to tell his wife. In the end the visit went well, he was supported by his doctor and he carried on with his day.

Some of Us have the courage to tell people how we identify, some of Us don’t. some of Us would rather not tell a soul while others wish we could go to the highest point in our city and yell it to the whole town.

When should you tell your health care provider about your sexuality?

Do you have to ever tell your doctor about your sexuality?

Well, that all depends on your particular health care situation. If you feel you need care for a health issue related to your sexuality then it may be a good idea to divulge so you can get the treatment you need.

It’s good to keep in mind for the easing of your nerves that all medical information is privileged and private, protected by HIPAA. I’ve included the link so you can read all about how your medical information is protected. 🙂

Your physician cannot share your personal information with ANYONE without facing professional, legal and possible civil ramifications under Federal law.

Do you need to tell your physician about your sexuality if you have no health care issues related to your sexual identity?

Well, in all honesty that’s a personal choice only  you can make.

For some, telling your doctor may be the first step to Coming Out. It may be a place where you can speak to someone face to face about your feelings surrounding your sexuality without fear of judgement or having to see this person on a day to day basis.

Your doctor may also have resources in your local community for support regarding your sexuality if you need.

In the end, telling your health care professional about your sexuality is a personal choice only you can make.

Only  you can determine your comfortability level with your doctor, only you can determine if He/She needs to know.

Have you had a coming out experience with a health care professional?

Tell Us all about it below.

I’m sure other readers who may be considering Coming Out to their doctor would benefit from knowing what it was like for you!

-Jay Dee, Founder

5 thoughts on “Coming Out To Your Doctor?

  1. I told my doctor years ago; the question came up during a pre-surgery exam which could have involved blood transfusions. He just gave me “that look” – the “You don’t look like the type!” look – and added stuff to my medical history. I did, however, noticed that when he started doing the DREs to make sure my prostate was good and healthy, his finger would spend a little “extra” time poking my prostate… and, yeah, it felt good and, yes, he was quite professional.

    The bottom line is that keeping secrets from your doctor could prove to be detrimental to your health – and that’s more important than being prideful or embarrassed about being bisexual and sexually active in this…

  2. Great post!
    I have often contemplated telling my doctor about my sexuality, but haven’t felt the need to – I guess on some level, since I’m monogamous, there really isn’t a need to do it. I have finally told my mental health provider, and that felt relieving. But there is always a lot to consider when you come out. I fantasize that someday I can be out and it’s not an issue, ya know?

    Again, great post!

  3. I’ve not come out to a healthcare professional, but with laws protecting information shared with them that would be a safe place to practice telling someone. Interesting topic

  4. Wow, this is timely for me! I am just about to come out to my OBGYN. Not really worried. I have been going to her for 15 years and think she will be supportive but still feel a little nervous.

COMMENT

