New Contributing Author! Meredith Lee

BiWife Community I’d like you to all welcome our newest Contributing Author!

Meredith Lee is a creative and kindred spirit I’m sure you guys will love. She’s an awesome chick and I’m totally honored to have her aboard. Check out her story below

Welcome Meredith!!!

-Jay Dee, Founder

meredith downing contributing author BiWifeLife

I had no problem composing a blog post while frying my egg this morning. The fizzle in the pan harmonizing with the drip gurgle of the coffee pot in the background interrupted by the mechanical pop of the toaster seemed to coax a story out of me. Alas, as soon as I sat down in front of my laptop, the words floated away with the steam rolling off my coffee mug, leaving me with some poetic ramble about making breakfast.

I was thinking of a story that wasn’t my typical story. That’s a story I could tell in my sleep. The story of how I got here. That for over ten years I simply existed as a bisexual and was just ok with everyone assuming I was a straight chick who liked to make out with other chicks. That all the while I was in a long-distance relationship with my now-husband, who never minded my college antics, which did nothing to make my sexuality feel validated at all. It was a party trick. I didn’t mind. College ended. We moved in together and got engaged.

That not long after our wedding, something snapped, and I’m not exactly sure what it was, but all of a sudden I was sick of being invisible. [Maybe it was coincidentally going out for drinks during Pride Week, seeing the LG of LGBT out and proud and feeling like maybe my invitation got lost in the mail. That must be it, right?] And I was sick of the rest of my bisexual sisters and brothers being invisible and misconstrued. So I started trying to be more visible and seeking out other people like me. I found the larger nation-wide Facebook groups and online forums, but nothing with a super deep connection and certainly nothing local to me. Then I found this oasis of a site. I found an opportunity to be involved not only with all of you, but the chance to someday bring it to my own community. I found the way to help other women like us know that they’re not alone.

I wasn’t gonna tell that story though. Oh well. Now you know how I got here. How I stumbled home. The story I was going to tell can be for another time.

From here, hopefully you’ll be seeing quite a bit of me as I guest-write and share my journey. I am so excited to have found all of you at the exact moment I needed you. 

– Meredith Lee, Contributing Author

2 thoughts on “New Contributing Author! Meredith Lee

  1. Jay Dee, Thank you for the lovely introduction 🙂 I am so happy to be joining such a wonderful group of women here, and I can’t wait to share more of my story.

  2. Thank you for sharing your story Meredith and WELCOME! It is so great to hear these stories, and this community continually reminds me that I am not alone. I’m so excited!

COMMENT

