Books I’m Reading

Even though I am far out of school, and I have not yet decided if I am ready to return for my Master’s, I love back to school season. This is the time when I enjoy sitting outside in the changing weather with a great book (or Kindle app on my phone/iPad), and soak up all the fresh enthusiasm for learning. So I decided to revisit one of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2014.

At the beginning of the year, I resolved to find at least five books that were becoming movies, and read the books first before going to see the movie. I was a Film, TV, and Theater major in college, and I LOVED watching film adaptations to understand what parts of a book or play could easily translate to film, and what parts were difficult for directors to adapt for big screen audiences. Yeah I know, I’m a nerd.

So I turned to Buzzfeed to find a nice list of books-to-movies to begin resolution journey. I just finished all three books in The Maze Runner series. Now I am rereading The Giver (I am certain I was assigned to read this book in high school, but I probably just read cliff notes, don’t tell!). Next I will be reading The Hundred-Foot Journey. If you’d like to check out the entire list, it’s called 16 Books to Read Before They Hit Theaters This Year.

Have any of you read or seen any of these titles? What’s your favorite book of the moment? Maybe we can add a virtual book club to the BiWifeClub if anyone has any titles they would like to share.

-Stephanie Elise, Contributing Author

7 thoughts on “Books I’m Reading

  1. Currently, I’m really into SARK. I love how bright and colorful her books are, like she’s writing to my inner child. Currently I’m reading her title Prosperity Pie. Also on my list are a few book about vulnerability by Brene Brown – I Though It Was Just Me, Daring Greatly, and The Gifts of Imperfection. All that with my ever-growing collection of fiction and the holidays quickly approaching. There are just not enough hours in the day!

  2. I’m a bit late reading this (new to this community and catching up on older posts), but I LOVE the idea of a book club here. That a post is started about a book, then people can read it at their own pace and contribute to the conversation πŸ™‚

    Fiction has taken a backseat lately to some “self-help” (can’t think of a better name) books on my list, but I miss it quite a bit.

  3. I wish I could read books. I’m such a nerd myself. I’ve translated my love for Robin Cook’s medical thrillers into an aspiring career as a Health Care Manager, lol. I miss reading books. The only thing I have time for is textbooks. I must admit I am mentally stimulated but I still miss the thrill of a book. “When you get close to finishing a book you should already have your next one picked out. When you finish one book, you start another.” The words of my very nerdy mother πŸ™‚ Nerds rock! (Sexy nerds like us are even better! πŸ™‚
    -Jay Dee, Founder

    1. I can understand, I know you’re super busy! But that’s great to hear that the textbook reading is in a field you truly enjoy, and it will be a wonderful addition to your already great skill set. Mom is right, I have to slow down when I get to the end of a book or series, because I don’t want a gap between reading.

      And yes, sexy nerds are AMAZING! When I was in college, and still discovering my attractions, I had to stop attending book clubs and poetry readings on a regular basis, because I would leave the group SO TURNED ON! There is nothing better than a well-read, educated, sexy woman….

      1. Yeeeeeees Elise! Sheesh, there’s nothing sexier than a woman who’s intelligent AND sexy.
        A pretty face with hair tied back, glasses a good book and boy shorts, ahhhh heaven on the eyes, lmao. πŸ™‚

COMMENT

