Rally Against Violence in NYC

The rainbow flag, sometimes called 'the freedo...
The rainbow flag, sometimes called ‘the freedom flag’, has been used as a symbol of gay and lesbian pride since the 1970s. The different colors symbolize diversity in the gay community, and the flag is often used as a symbol of gay pride in gay rights marches. It originated in the United States, but is now used around the world. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
I was there. It was beautiful, emotionally charged from the heart, a scene from my childhood- the 80’s & 90’s came flashing back to me. (I have a pics and video I’ll be uploading behind this post)
New York wasn’t always safe for anyone of LGBT orientation. I remember being scared to talk to a girl, being scared to wear my “boy” clothes, wear my Caesar haircut, being scared of being jumped or slashed in my face. The LGBT community, including the youth of the time fought for our freedom to walk around this city as who we are without fear. We paved the way for the freedom we have today. New York wasn’t always a ‘Gay Friendly’ city either. The police didn’t care, politicians didn’t care, we were targets without protection.
Hilary Clinton was the catapult into mainstream acceptance for many New Yorkers. With her support and other politicians finally hearing us New York began to take us seriously and change. The recent spark in violence against the LGBT community has heartbroken me almost as much as the day my towers fell. They were my guidance when I was directionally challenged teen on my way to school. So was The LGBT Center, Hedrick Martin, places like Astor Place, Washington Sq. Park, Christopher Street and The Piers when I was looking for who I was within myself. The Village is my home, freedom was my cause then and it’s motivated me to become active again. Here’s a link to the Rally that sparked an old flame in my heart, brought tears to my eyes. The recent violence in our community has sent this revolutionary soul back into the fight.
Education was key then, it is now. Educate the ignorant. Share links, talk about it, don’t be afraid to discuss it. It’s OUR issue too. Being bisexual can be a ‘cloak’ against being targeted for hate crimes if you are in a hetero marriage as I am. To me that’s a cowards way to sit on the sidelines and enjoy the freedom others fought for. You too sisters can become involved as I am if you are out to your family and friends.  To our lesbian sisters be careful, take all precautions and become involved. Find a group, a meeting, go to your local center, fight back. The revolution has begun again. To our sisters in the closet, maybe through educating your straight friends and any open homophobes in your life you can help pop some of those ignorance bubbles in their heads. Straight people can hear straight people (or who they perceive as straight) 😉
Tell me, what are your thoughts on the recent spark of violence in the city?

passion

See Video of the rally here

*ATTACKED HOURS AFTER ANTI HATE RALLY, MERE BLOCKS FROM RALLY SITE!!! CLICK BELOW FOR VIDEO* http://www.nbcnewyork.com/news/local/Anti-Gay-Hate-Crime-SoHo-Broadway-Attack-208337881.html

Related articles

COMMENT

